• April 2017

    Residency and Fellowship News & Events

Residency Program Updates

Diagnostic Radiology

The 2017 Senior Chief Residents are Jennifer Caero, MD, and Anthony Onofrio, MD. The 2017 Junior Chief Resident is Andrew Lichliter, MD.

Evans Heithaus, MD, was featured in Interventional News for multiple projects related to radiation protection aprons and occupational exposure.

Under the supervision of their faculty supervisor Chet Rees, MD, Interventional Radiology, Heithaus and fellow resident Andrew Lichliter, MD, (pictured left to right) presented their work at the International Society of Endovascular Therapy. Dr. Lichliter was recognized for best overall scientific poster presentation at the meeting. Their work was recently published in Radiology.  

Anatomic and Clinical Pathology

The Anatomical and Clinical Pathology Residency Program recently announced their 2017-2018 Chief Residents, Alexia Ghazi Waller, DO, and Dan Hale, MD. After graduating from residency at BUMC, Dr. Alexia Ghazi Waller will continue on at BUMC as the first fellow for the newly created surgical pathology fellowship program (TMB approval in progress). Meanwhile, Dr Dan Hale plans to stay on at BUMC after graduation to be Dr. John Krause’s 47th Hematopathology Fellow.

OB/GYN Residency Program

The OB/GYN Administrative Chief Residents for the 2017-2018 academic year are Elise Elliott, MD, and Mallory Hughes, MD.

Uche Anumudu, MD, PGY4 OB/GYN resident (pictured right), presented a poster on “An Evaluation of GNOSIS” at the annual TAOG/District X Resident Research Day in Houston in September.  Dr. Anumudu is also scheduled to present a poster on her research in March 2017 at APGO/CREOG Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida.

Dr. Mallory Hughes, PGY3 OB/GYN resident, recently published a case study in the January 2017 Baylor Proceedings along with Dr. Adrianne Browning and a medical student, Andrew Lupo, titled “Ruptured ectopic pregnancy with a negative urine pregnancy test.” 

Fellowship Program Updates


The Cardiology Fellowship program recently matched three fellows for the academic year 2017-2018: Anas Hamadeh, MD, Nishi Patel, MD, and Robin Chalkley, MD.


As of February 2017, the Gastroenterology Department gained a new chief, Stuart Spechler, MD, who was on faculty at UT Southwestern. Dr. Spechler is widely renowned as an expert in diseases of the esophagus with special interest in gastroesophageal reflux disease and Barrett’s esophagus. Dr. Spechler has an active program of clinical research that focuses on diseases of the esophagus.

The Gastroenterology Fellowship program matched for 2017-2018 with two stellar candidates: Avery Smith, MD, and Prianka Singapura, MD.

Transplant Hepatology

Our Transplant Hepatology Fellowship also filled for 2017-2018 with local a candidate: Ashwini Mehta, DO.

Upcoming Events

BUMC Graduate Medical Education will host the 3rd annual BUMC Scholarly Day, Tuesday, April 4, on 10 Sammons. Scholarly Day is open to our medical community and all are welcome to attend any of the following events.

Poster Viewing

11 a.m.-noon (Medco/ARA Room)

Keynote Speaker: Michael Ramsay, MD, FRCA, President, Baylor Research Institute

12:15 – 1:15 (Tom Hunt Auditorium)

Oral Presentations on Various Topics
1:30 p.m.-2:30 p.m.

Best Overall Oral Presentations

2:45 p.m.-3:45 p.m. (Tom Hunt Auditorium)

4 p.m. (Tom Hunt Auditorium)

Last year’s winners with the judges. Front row, from left: Kevin Wheelan, MD; Internal Medicine Resident August Clark, MD; Heme-Onc Fellow Leah Zhrebker, MD; Pathology Resident Michael Hitchcock, MD; and Medical Student Alyssa Munkres. Second row, from left: John Fordtran, MD; Ron Jones, MD; Cristie Columbus, MD; Walter Peters, MD; and Pete Dysert, MD.