• September 2017

    Residency and Fellowship Updates

Obstetrics & Gynecology Residency

In June, the OB/GYN Residency Program held the 25th Annual Julian Wells Lectureship and Scientific Session at Baylor University Medical Center at Dallas. The event featured guest lecturer Rebecca Sotile Fallon who spoke on “Choosing Resilience: The Key to Thriving Through Change” and Claudia HarshMD, a physician on the Baylor Dallas medical staff, who spoke on “Mind-Body Medicine: State of the Science.” 

The third-year OB/GYN residents presented their research projects:

  • Lindsay Breedlove Tate, MD – Impact of Tumor Testing for Lynch Syndrome in Endometrial Cancers
  • Elise Elliott, DO – Comparing the Differences of Delayed Cord Clamping Between 45 and 60 Seconds in Early Preterm Infants
  • Mallory Hughes, MD – Antibiotic Prophylaxis for Gynecologic Surgery
  • Swati Joshipura, DO – Can Cooling the Uterus During Cesarean Delivery Reduce Blood Loss, Reduce Drug Use, and Decrease the Risk for Hysterectomy in Women with Dysfunctional Labor?
  • Kathlyn Parr, MD – Does Antibiotic Prophylaxis for Term GBS Negative Patients with Prolonged Rupture of Membranes Improve Outcomes? 

Also over the summer, the Department of OB/GYN hosted a graduation dinner at Lakewood Country Club for graduating residents and their families. All residents and attending physicians came to give their best wishes to the new program graduates.   

OB/GYN Residency Award Winners

  • The Devereux Award for best research project and presentation: Swati Joshipura, MD
  • The Strother Award for academic excellence award presented to the resident from each class that has achieved the highest score on the CREOG exam (in-training exam): 

o   First-year recipient is Emily Spurgin, MD 

o   Second-year recipient is Shannon Miller, MD

o   Third-year recipient is Mallory Hughes, MD 

o   Fourth-year recipient is Kira Brooks, MD (***Winner of all classes***)

 The Joseph Warren Award honoring a senior resident for dedicated commitment to excellence, leadership and balance: Megan Mohrman, MD

  • The Professionalism Award for the graduate that best exemplifies this core competency through integrity, accountability and ethical behavior: Uche Anumudu, MD
  • AAGL Award for the Special Resident in Minimally Invasive Gynecology: Dr. Kira Books  
  • The Society for Maternal Fetal Medicine – Residency Program Award for Excellence in Obstetrics (nominated by MFM physicians): Dr. Shannon Miller
  • The 2nd Year Teaching Award for best teacher to the intern class (voted on by intern class): Robbie Gladney, MD

Annual Teaching awards were also given to faculty members that were voted on by the residents:

  • The Golden Apple Award voted on by medical students and the CREOG Award, an outstanding teaching award voted on by the residents: Dr. Brandon Cornelius (13’)  
  • The APGO Award voted on by the graduating seniors: Dr. Ashwin Gaitonde (11’)  

Radiology Residency

In keeping with the Women in Medicine month of September we share information about two of our female graduates and two of our current female residents.

Current Residents 

The ACR Case in Point provides an opportunity to examine a challenging new case every weekday as a free, online learning experience. Each month, one of the cases is selected as the “Case of the Month.” Annually, a “Case of the Year” is selected from among the cases of the month by the editorial board. The case submitted by current PGY4/R3 resident Jessica Page, MD, was selected as a “Case of the Month” and came in second as the “Case of the Year.” Dr. Page also serves as a member of the editorial board for ACR Case in Point.   

Current PGY4/R3 resident Lauren Martinez, MD, is serving on the editorial board for ACR Case in Point.

Radiology Residency Program Alumni Update 

Jennifer Kwak, MD (12’) is an Assistant Professor, Radiology-Nuclear Medicine, at the University of Colorado in Denver, and participates in the ABR Core examination committee.  

Shannon Glass, MD (15’) is currently practicing mammography in Tyler, Texas, and is an active member of the medical community. She has been featured in the University of Tyler Health Science Center’s Health Connection, where she explains new advancements in the field, and the differences between 2-D and 3-D mammography.   


The Department of Pathology will be complementing their 67-year history of house staff training by adding a Surgical Pathology Fellowship starting July 1, 2018. The fellowship was recently approved through the Texas Medical Board and will be the second fellowship that the program offers in addition to the current Hematopathology fellowship.

Drs. Peter Dysert II (83’) and Amanda Profit will be leading the program, and Alexia Ghazi, DO, will be the first surgical pathology fellow. Dr. Ghazi is the current co-chief of the residency program, and the department is delighted to have Dr. Ghazi be the inaugural fellow. For more information about the Surgical Pathology Fellowship please visit the Baylor Dallas-Surgpath fellowship.

You never know who you are going to run into during pathology subspecialty board season. Drs. L. Rodrigo Soto, Michael Hitchcock and Cody Thomas managed to have a mini reunion in the Tampa airport coming and going to their pathology subspecialty boards. All three graduated in 2016 from the Pathology Residency training program.  


  • Current PGY4 residents will be attending the American College of Surgeons Clinical Congress meeting in San Diego – Oct. 22-26.
  • Sarah Mustafa, MD, will be attending the Society of Laparoendoscopic Surgeons to present her paper on “Robotic Hernia Curriculum Supplements Minimally Invasive Surgical Residents’ Education”.
  • The administrative chiefs for 2017-18 will be Drs. Sean Arredondo and Tracy Soledad. Both chiefs have distinguished themselves as leaders in our program and will do a great job this year.
  • Cory McLaughlin, MD, a current fourth-year resident, will be taking a research year participating in a pediatric surgery research fellowship at Children’s Hospital of Los Angeles with Dr. Aaron Jenson. Dr. McLaughlin’s research focus is on outcomes in pediatric trauma.
  • Drs. Kara Monday (’17) and Nathan Vaughan (15’, 17’) are joining URSA upon graduating from the SCC Fellowship.


Drs. Ravina Patel and Salma Elbehary attended the second annual Nephrology Business Leadership University (NBLU). NBLU is a unique week-long program that brings together a diverse faculty of practicing nephrologists, hospital and dialysis provider executives, and other health care professionals who share their insights on leadership, the business of nephrology, and the evolving health care landscape. This year’s conference took place in Plano.